Latest ICON studentships announced

Congratulations to the researchers below:


Project Title

Lead Researcher

Lead Institution

Temperature- and ambient-induced band structure changes in tin oxide to optimize nanosensors for safety applications

Alex Chroneos

Coventry University

Computational modelling of a novel rechargeable battery based on poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) and aluminium in an ionic liquid electrolyte

Carlos Ponce de Leon

University of Southampton

Defining the impact of 2D materials on innate immune cell activation and function for a safe production and use

Cyril Bussy

University of Manchester

New nano-indentation test methods for safer nuclear structural health monitoring and life extension risk assessment

Xiadong Hou

Coventry University

Ribonucleic acid (RNA) allergen biosensor based on Flexible Laser Scribed Graphene Solution Gate Field Effect Transistors

Veeradasan Perumal

Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS

Energy Harvesting from Ship Structures and Machinery

Alex Weddell

University of Southampton

Self-powered strain sensor based on graphene-MXenes composite film for pipeline monitoring

Mohammed Shuaib

Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS

Lithium Battery Inspection System based on Carbon Nanotube Field Emission Microfocus X-ray Source Array

John Yeow

University of Waterloo

Wireless surface acoustic wave platform for corrosion sensing

Themis Prodromakis

University of Southampton


We look forward to welcoming our new Lloyd's Register Foundation Doctoral Students to the ICON network.