ICON supervisor elected to IEEE Nanotechnology Council

Professor John Yeow has been involved with Nanotechnology Council (NTC) activities in different capacities since 2006. He was the Editor-in-Chief for the IEEE Nanotechnology Newsletter (2010-2012), and the IEEE Nanotechnology Magazine (2014-2019). Furthermore, John was a NTC Distinguished Lecturer (2017-2018), and a General Chair of the IEEE NANO 2014 in Toronto, Canada. More recently, he served as the Program Chair for IEEE NANOMED 2019 in Gwangju, South Korea and IEEE NEMS 2019 in San Diego, USA.

John’s plans as VP include establishing a stronger and sustainable relationship between the NTC Distinguished Lecturer (DL) program with NTC chapters around the world. Workng with TC chairs so that they can actively participate in tutorial organization at NTC conferences and summer schools. This active participation will increase their TCs’ exposure to the nano community which will, in turn, increase their membership and revitalize the leadership. And proactively reaching out to NTC chapters to support and promote educational activities such as nanotechnology engineering outreach programs.